Many organizations of retired teachers give scholarships to students aspiring to become teachers.  MCPSRA is different; we give scholarships to MCPS employees who are working on advanced degrees or improving their professional skills.  Our scholarships consist of memorial, endowed and MCPSRA awards.  Memorial scholarships honor former presidents Elizabeth Doyle and Dr. Thomas Peters and his wife Elizabeth.  The endowed scholarships are from income from a $50,000 bequest, made in 1996 from one-time president Louise Smith Walker.  The remaining scholarships are funded by MCPSRA from membership dues and contributions.

2019 Awardees:

Elizabeth Doyle Scholarship: 

               Bethany Pasierb

Elizabeth and Thomas Peters Scholarship:

              Cynthia Marchant

Louise Walker Scholarship:

              Luke Maclay

              Krista McKim

MCPSRA Scholarships:

             Seth Anderson

             KeVon Brooks

             Lori Stout

             Ruth Stuart

             Brandi Umbarger